Saturday – Winter Series 2016/17 – Final Results Report

Those keeping a keen eye on the results will know that we completed the 2016/17 Saturday Winter Series on 18 March 2017 due to the Comet / GP14 Open being next week. The series was slightly extended compared to the normal 3 months, with an extension of an additional month of results as we realign the racing season to the calendar year. 

The series was hotly contested with 47 entries. A number of races were lost in December due to lack of wind, however, that was certainly reversed in March where we had great conditions with a rising tide! 

With 24 races to count for the Series (generally 2 races per day) there was a requirement of 7 races to count before discards could kick in.  There were 18 out the 47 competitors that managed to achieve 7 or more races with 4 others narrowly missing by one race.

Praise must go to the Optimist sailors, all 8 of them, who not only endured the worst that the winter could throw at them, but also because they sailed the longest races particularly in the pursuit races where they sailed an additional 13 minutes than the next slowest boat. A number of these sailors also participated in Midland Optimist Training events, which meant they lost crucial qualification races. Congratulations go to Finley Moss who was the first Optimist home and finished a credible 6th overall in series.  This result was followed by his brother William Moss, who came in 2nd and 11th overall in the series.  Other notable performances were from Jamie Thornton (27th), Annabel Thornton (29th), Harry Marlow (31st), the Cawthorne Clan:  Oscar (33rd), Scarlet (39th),  Ralph (42nd) and Ella Johnson (45th). It should also be noted that both Finley and William managed some top three scores in the series and Harry Marlow won the penultimate race of the series after demolishing the Solo dominance! 

The Mirrors, who normally put out impressive turnouts, were down in this series with Fred Gilbert overall winner of the fleet. This was followed up by Fred Briscoe and Tony Mason.

It was good to see a number of 2000s competing this winter representing the majority of the two handed boats. This was supplemented occasionally with Larks and the very quick Zara Turtle in her Miracle crewed by Millie Jenkinson. David Griffiths was the eventual leader of the 2000’s leaving Lawrence Dooley in 2nd followed by Bill Overton.

So, who sailed the most races in the series? The smart money would have been on Ray Tite (12 races) in his Comet, or possibly Pete Smith (15 races) and then there was Clive Brakespear (15 races). No all wrong! The person who sailed the most races was Cole Briscoe with an impressive 19/24 races sailed. Who knows, his winter practice may pay dividends in the Spring Series, or perhaps this is his warm up to June’s Race Week.

And so to the overall results for the Saturday 2016/17 Series

The top ten positions were dominated by single handed boats although there were 4 different classes represented. This included Laser, Optimist, Phantom and Solo. Overwhelmingly, it was the Solos which took the top 3 spots. Overall winner was Stuart Hydon followed by Cole Briscoe and Richard Charles. Jim Hopton only managed 4th with a win in the last race of the series.  Top lady helm over the winter period was Ann Biglin who managed a 5th with Jane Scott Davies coming in 8th just ahead of Lucinda Thornton in 10th.

The Saturday Spring Series starts 1 April 2017 with the promise of warmer weather and a fuller reservoir. 

Winter 2016:2017 – Saturdays R1 & R2


Stuart Hydon